image

sophomore studio

This course explores the principles of photography and the photographic image as a method for seeing and a tool for communication.  It is a project-based class, aimed toward challenging and expanding both technical and cognitive skills in photographic messaging. We will explore connections between photographic form and its content, as an integral part of graphic design.  Narrative, documentation and the temporal qualities of the medium will be explored both in creating imagery and in analyzing the role of photographic imagery in culture.


Constructed Image Posters

Jackie Robinson: Sarah Dean ’18 | behance.net/sarahmdean

Francesca Woodman : Sam Yates '16  |  samannyates.com

Alexander Fleming : Kristen Ashton '17  |  behance.net/kashton

Edith Head: Justin Skaggs '17  |  behance.net/justinskaggs

Ray & Charles Eames:  Larry Fulcher '16  |  larryfulcher.com 

Dennis Wilson: Steven Aranda ’18 | behance.net/MrAranda

Tex Avery: Chris Chavez ’18 | behance.net/chavezjchris

Pedro Infante: Daisy Escamilla “18 |

Weegee: Chris McGill '17  |  behance.net/christophermcgill

Kelly Ludwig, assistant professor


Digital Book Covers  

Sam Shepard: Myles Thompson '16  |  mylesthompsoncreative.com

Jorge Luis Borges: Tori Wheeler '17  |  behance.net/toriwheeler

William Faulkner: Justin Skaggs '17  |  behance.net/justinskaggs

William Faulkner: Ashley Castillo ‘18 |  behance.net/ancastillo

Jhumpa Lahiri: Y Pham ’18 | behance.net/npham

Kelly Ludwig, assistant professor


Visual Interview  Caylie Hausman ‘18 |  behance.net/cayliehausman  |  Kelly Ludwig, assistant professor


Visual Interview  Sarah Dean ’18 | behance.net/sarahmdean  |  Kelly Ludwig, assistant professor


Visual Interview  Isaac Carlos '17  |  behance.net/isaacHcarlos  |  Kelly Ludwig, assistant professor


Visual Interview  Alyx Jacobs '16  |  alyxjacobs.com  |  Kelly Ludwig, assistant professor